Civics 101: TN Senate

What is the Tennessee Senate?

Learn about the TN Senate:

  • The upper house of Tennessee’s General Assembly is called the Senate.
  • The state is divided into 33 senatorial districts, from each of which one senator is elected.
  • Senators ar elected to four-year terms with those from even-numbered districts being elected in the same general election, and those representing odd-numbered districts being elected two years later.